Table of Contents

What is a Statutory holiday?

Statutory holiday: In Canada, a statutory holiday, also known as a statutory day or public holiday, is a day designated by federal or provincial government legislation on which most employees are entitled to a day off from work with pay. Statutory holidays are established to commemorate or observe significant events or occasions, and they can vary by province or territory. Common statutory holidays in Canada include New Year's Day, Good Friday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, among others. On these holidays, businesses and government offices are typically closed, and employees who work on these days are entitled to additional compensation or a substitute day off, depending on labour laws and employment agreements. Statutory holidays play a vital role in providing Canadians with opportunities for rest, leisure, and cultural observance.

Share this post

Related posts